Dia De Los Muertos!

I went to Hollywood Forever Cemetery yesterday in celebrating Dia De Los Muertos. This is my first time to attend such a special event and I am so happy about it. It was so magical! People made their own altars and decorated them with such beauty! I’m sure their relatives who have passed away enjoyed the celebration as much as the visitors.

We came in a little late so my friends and I missed the procession. But other than that, we still enjoyed the rest of the program. It was really fun enjoying the arts and culture of Mexicans. I felt annoyed when I realized that my camera has no memory card in it. I could have gotten some sick photos of the event. I’m just glad my friend brought his!

Here are some pictures from the event (taken by my friend Paul):

altar

Just one of the beautiful altars in the cemetery.

 

skulls

Some skull decoratives that are for sale.

 

dancer

One of the dancers during that night.

 

Anyway, while we were heading out, I passed by this booth with pictures of cards. Being the tarot freak that I am, I can’t help but appreciate them. I silently peeked and asked what they were. They obviously aren’t tarot. The guy said they’re called Lotería. It’s a mexican game similar to bingo. The only difference is that they use pictures instead of numbers. It was very fascinating. I have good memories with bingo because that is my grand ma’s favorite past time. While it is not the same, I thought it was very creative so I bought a set of my own. He gave me a good deal for it too. Here is a picture of my new purchase and a link to his blog: Loteria Gonzalez.

loteria

Loteria - a Mexican game of chance.

2 thoughts on “Dia De Los Muertos!

  1. I am soooo jealous! I would love to attend a Dia de los Muertos event. I’ve always loved the idea, but it is becoming more important to me, personally, to celebrate it. Something to do for the future 🙂

Leave a Reply

