The Gift

For today, I pulled The Wheel from my Legacy of the Divine Tarot by Ciro Marchetti.

The card shows the fool jumping, climbing, falling and hanging on to the wheel. This shows that the wheel is not steady at all. It’s moving and constantly changing.

This reminds me of a Filipino proverb which my mom keeps telling me, “Ang buhay ay parang gulong, minsan nasa ibabaw, minsan nasa ilalim.”. The english translation is “Life is like a wheel, sometimes (you’re) at the top, sometimes (you’re) at the bottom.”. This saying has a strong influence on me. I knew early on that the only thing constant in life is change. Sometimes that change is sudden, sometimes it’s gradual but in general, life is unpredictable.

I didn’t have any plans today. But I was invited for lunch by Patrick. I’m always game for anything so I drove to Westwood. I almost didn’t go because I’m not at all prepared and the traffic is notorious in LA especially around lunch time… I do not know why. Anyway, I got there just in time and we spent lunch at this little park with aviary. There’s also a farmer’s market going on so I checked the booths out. I saw this neat Tibetan Singing Bowl. It’s a medium-sized bowl and it fits perfectly in my hand. I knew I have to own it. She gave me a good deal and to top it off, she gave me a free little red Buddha for luck. I didn’t expect this to happen! This little gesture of hers made me think of The Wheel card today. I gave her a hug after that. She was a sweet lady.

Here’s a picture of my goodies today:

bowl

Singing Bowl, Buddha and a White Sage mist.

2 thoughts on “The Gift

Leave a Reply

