Personal Development Cards

Phoenix Tarot

After computing my birthday’s month, day & year… I ended up with 4 (The Emperor) as a representation of both my personality and soul card.  The Death card represents the Hidden Factor in my birthday. I came up with this using Mary Greer’s table in her book “Tarot Constellations”. After age 30, this hidden factor will be renamed the teacher card. I’m glad I found out about this before I even got there. The Temperance is my year card for 2009. I know it’s almost over but it’s still worth mentioning.

The Emperor in this deck is my primary reason why I bought this deck.  I’ve been browsing decks online (multiply and albideuter) but it’s hard to find a pleasing and attractive Emperor.  Most of them look stiff, angry-looking and clothed.  LOL.  This guy, on the other hand, is sexy and exudes attitude and confidence.  He is half-naked and has nothing to hide.  He is a proud Emperor.

I heard someone say before, “Real men wear pink.”.  Well this emperor is just that.  He is comfortable with his sexuality/masculinity.  He sits in his throne with pride.  We can see an image of a ram in his throne.  This symbolizes the astrological sign Aries.  He is the first sign of the zodiac, also known as the “House of Self”.  To quote an astrology site, “This is the field of experience in which an individual is challenged to develop his or her own unique personality and present it to the world.”. And as a spiritual goal, Aries is about learning the meaning of selfless love.

The Death card is my Hidden Factor or my Teacher card.  Like my personality and soul card, this card will be forever.  The picture is very simple.  It shows a hooded skeleton with a scythe at hand. He is smirking and he is getting ready to strike. If he can talk, he probably would say, “You’ll thank me after this is over.”.  This card is about ending something old and ugly so we can free up space for new and better experiences.  I guess this applies to everybody, but each and everyone of us have mini-deaths in our life time.  You finish high school so you can start college.  You leave your parents and start to live independently.  You quit a job to find a better  one.  At this point in my life, I can say a number of endings and new beginnings.  It’s just a part of life.

The Temperance shows a lady pouring liquid from two cups into one big cup.  One cup holds a red liquid, while the other one holds a blue one.  What is she trying to do here?  She is evenly mixing the two things together.  This takes time, practice and effort.  If done correctly, the result will be perfect.  This card is all about moderation and balance.  This is a solution to problems such as disagreements or clashing beliefs.  It may signify communication or taking time to understand one another.  This year has been like that to me.  My relatives and I had a few disagreements and sometimes the only way to agree is to disagree.  We just have to work out our differences and find a way to keep the relationship.

I’m really glad I discovered tarot because I feel connected once again.  I feel connected with my spirit guides, my angels, the universe and I can understand things better now.  I still have a lot to learn from symbols, numbers and zodiac signs but what I know so far is enough.  I can’t wait to explore more.

Deck:  Phoenix Tarot by Paola Angelotti

2 thoughts on “Personal Development Cards

  1. Oh I wanna read about your personality/soul cards too! I have a double 4… so both my personality and soul cards are the same.

    Oohhh, that one’s cute… I hope it’s not out of print yet.

Leave a Reply

